Tuesday, 23 June 2015

The Secrets She Keeps by Deb Caletti

The Secrets She KeepsThe Secrets She Keeps by Deb Caletti
My rating: 3 of 5 stars



I have to be fair and honest, I was really looking forward to reading this, it ended up a decent enough read. BUT I really did struggle taking off. It was like a plane trying to take off but with the elements against it or something drastic holding it back.
I got confused too. I really had to concentrate to get my head around all the chopping and changing.

Once I did that, it became more open to me enjoying it. I would have just given up, but I like this authors work, I wanted it to take me in and enjoy it.

Well, I did in the end. I liked it.

But phew was it tedious in places and hard going.


I have to tell it honestly, its no good me trying to say WOW when I didn't feel that way.

It won't stop me reading this authors books though, sometimes you just can't connect, and this was one of those times.

I need to thank Random House Publishing Group - Bantam Dell for allowing me to read and review this honest and open with my opinions of how the book made me feel.


From Deb Caletti, the bestselling and National Book Award finalist, comes a novel about the immutable, enduring and ever-present conflicts of love, marriage and breaking apart. Perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah, Liane Moriarty, and Anna Quindlen.

A trio of women gather at their aunt’s once famous Nevada “divorce ranch,” where in the 1950’s, high-society women and Hollywood elite gathered to obtain quickie divorces. As they tackle their own conflicts of love and marriage, past and present collide when secrets of the ranch’s tumultuous history are revealed.

Here is a story of the pull of stability versus the inevitability of change, the therapeutic power of female friendship, and the astonishment of finding yourself just when you’ve convinced yourself that you’re lost. More than anything, it’s about love’s most timeless struggle—losing your heart while keeping your head.
 



View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment