Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Wednesday, 10 September 2014

For Better For Worse by Pam Weaver

For Better For Worse by Pam Weaver
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I just can't help coming back to some of my favorite authors, the genre that I took to when first starting out seriously reading and Pam Weaver is one of my guilty pleasures to curl up to in the garden on a nice summers day and read.

How would feel if you had not long been married, have a baby on the way and someone turns up on your doorstep who claims to be looking for YOUR husband because she is looking for HER husband? Well it would rock your world right off its axis if it were true.

Yes, Henry is a bigamist. He gets convicted, but what happens to the '2 wives'? and the children. Then low and behold, there is a third wife!

There they are, 3 wives, children of from it and all living in the same area. You need to set your mind back to when illigitimate children, unmarried moms where looked down on.

Its a sorry state of affairs as each woman struggle.

You do get to hear Henry's side!

I was so lost in this book today, cleared my mind of all sorts of things going on around me. Its a light read, you don't have to sit there and think too much, the book just opens up to you.

Very intriguing subject matter I though.

I would like to thank HarperCollins UK, Avon via Net Galley for allowing me to read and review this lovely book.


When Henry Royal is found guilty of bigamy, the seaside town of Worthing is rocked by scandal. But what will become of his wives? A heart-wrenching read for fans of Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn.


July 1948. As Britain recovers from WWII, Annie Royal is looking to the future. Recently married to Henry, and with a baby on the way, she and her new husband are happily settled in the seaside town of Worthing.


But a knock at the door brings Annie’s world crashing down. On her doorstep stands Sarah and her two young children. As they talk, Sarah reveals that she is Henry’s wife – and she has been searching for him since he walked out on their family a year ago.


Struggling to believe what she’s hearing, Annie is forced to accept the truth when Henry is arrested for bigamy. Alone, with no one to support her, and with the baby due to arrive imminently, Annie must look to the most unlikely of places to find support in her darkest hour…


Hold tight for the enthralling new novel from Sunday Times bestseller, Pam Weaver. The perfect read for fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.






View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment