Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Saturday, 5 April 2014

Second Firsts: Turning Your Loss into a Launch Pad by Christina Rasmussen

Second Firsts: Turning Your Loss into a Launch PadSecond Firsts: Turning Your Loss into a Launch Pad by Christina Rasmussen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We have all unfortunately lost someone in death, maybe several. The effects this has on us depends on the individual according to the relationship they had with that person, and many other factors. A loss, is a loss, no matter if you didn't even see eye to eye with the person who has just died, we only as humans remember the good times.

Its said there are many levels we need to go through to 'get over' the death of a loved one. I think you never get 'over' it, you just learn to live alongside it. That is why I wanted to read this book of Christina Rasmussen. I want to read how she was a therapist for counselling others, then upon a loss in her own life how this altered her viewpoint, it was interesting to me.

I've maintained you can never understand someone's grief, feelings, or life experience unless you have been through it yourself.

This book shows me that its true. We can only sympathise, try to understand, have empathy, however, we cannot really KNOW unless we have experienced it, that doesn't mean we don't understand.

I would recommend this book, its made for very interesting reading and if you are going through grief right now, or even soon to be, I would suggest you buy this book and use it like a 'bible' to help.

**I was given a complimentary book from Hay House via Net Galley for my honest review**

After studying to become a therapist and crisis intervention counselor—even doing her master’s thesis on the stages of bereavement—Christina Rasmussen thought she knew grief. But it wasn’t until losing her husband to cancer in her early 30s that she truly understood the depths of sorrow and pain that come with it.Using the knowledge she gained while wading through her own grief and researching hundreds of neuroscience books, Rasmussen began to look at these experiences in a new way. She realized that grief plunges you into a gap between worlds—the world before trauma and the world after trauma. She also realized how easy it is to become lost in this gap.In Second Firsts, Rasmussen walks readers through a proven process that helps them break the spiral of pain and create a safe space for their post-grief life to enter. Her method, which she has used successfully online and offline with thousands of clients, is based on the science of neuroplasticity and focuses on consciously releasing pain in ways that both honor suffering and rewire the brain to experience the world in a new way.With understanding and empathy, Rasmussen uses practical exercises and stories drawn from her own life and the lives of her clients to guide readers through five stages of opening up to life: Stage 1: Get Real teaches readers about acknowledging where they stand at this moment. Stage 2: Plug In introduces readers to small steps they can take to get back in touch with life. Stage 3: Shift guides readers through the process of moving away from their grief identity toward their true identity. Stage 4: Discover helps readers start to identify who they truly are and what passions they have. Stage 5: Reenter Life teaches readers how to hold on to and celebrate the new self that is emerging while still honoring their old self. With this knowledge, readers can come out of grief as a new person and start to experience life again—essentially for the first time.
View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment